Online Databases
Online databases are electronic collections of resources including reference books, journals, reports, and other forms of authoritative information. In many cases, this should be your starting point for research.
These resources are available on the web from any computer on the Cleveland Community College. You will need passwords to access the databases if you are not on campus. If you need help, online tutorials are available.
All of our databases are listed alphabetically below; you may also view them sorted by subject.
Alphabetical Listing
- African American Experience, from Greenwood's American Mosaic initiative, is the definitive electronic research tool for African American history and culture.
- Anatomy.tv is an interactive 3D learning tool for students taking anatomy and physiology courses in college.
- Business Source Premier is the most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles in all disciplines of business.
- Career Library is a comprehensive information resource for career and college research.
- Chadwyck-Healey Individual Literature Collections contain archives of full-text poetry, including African American Poetry (1750-1998), American Poetry (1600-2000), English Poetry (600-1900), and the Faber Poetry Library (20th Century).
- Countrywatch provides information on each of the recognized countries of the world.
- Directory of Open Access Journals covers free, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals in many subjects.
- Encyclopedia Americana Online is a useful general interest encyclopedia and a great place for users to begin researching a topic.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library is a searchable collection of online reference books.
- Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia includes seven encyclopedia databases: Encyclopedia America, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, The New Book of Knowledge, La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre, America the Beautiful, Lands and Peoples, and The New Book of Popular Science.
- Latino American Experience, from Greenwood's American Mosaic initiative, is the definitive electronic research tool for Latino American history and culture.
- Liebert Medical and Health Sciences Journals Online delivers electronic access to peer-reviewed journals with content exceeding 41,000 papers from more than sixty authoritative journals, all full-text searchable and linked to external bibliographic databases.
- Literary Reference Center is a completely full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources.
- Morningstar Library Edition covers mutual funds and stocks.
- NC LIVE serves North Carolina's citizens as a gateway to a rich array of electronic information on a variety of subjects.
- NetLibrary contains over 47,000 fiction and non-fiction full-text eBooks.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center and Critical Thinking covers current events and social issues from various viewpoints and arguments.
- Sanborn Maps
- RN Database is a nursing database that links to 14 different nursing resources.
- StatRef Medical e-Books is an electronic medical textbook database resource for healthcare professionals from the National Library Alliance.
- Science Reference Center provides science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, & other resources.
Copyright Cleveland Community College. Please see our
disclaimer. Last modified February 22, 2010.